2020 May Court and Queen Announced

 The 2020 GPS May Court and Queen is chosen during all-school assembly Friday, December 13.
Senior Kshama Patel will reign as May Queen over the 2019-20 traditional May Day festivities, to be held Wednesday, April 29, 2020. Six classmates join Kshama on the court: Faith Copeland, Eva Goldbach, Jadyn Matthews, Meg Priest, Leightta Sherrill, Isabelle Torrence. After the court is announced to the student body and faculty in the all-school assembly, votes cast by all students bestow the honor of May Queen to Kshama Patel, and a second vote names Faith Copeland as Maid of Honor.

Earlier in the week, the seniors voted for the May Court by selecting classmates who best represent their class, our school, and the ideals and values we hold dear by considering the following criteria: The May Queen and Court should be representatives of the senior class in the highest sense. They should be gracious, friendly, and loyal to friends and to GPS. They should be actively and enthusiastically involved in the life of GPS, eager to give of their time and their talents. They should stand for the highest ideals in character and integrity. They should be respected and admired by fellow schoolmates and faculty alike. When voting for the May Queen and Maid of Honor, students are asked to consider the same criteria.

Dr. Autumn Graves, Head of School, says, “Today we are celebrating and acknowledging the impact of our senior class. One of the things I love so much about GPS is that the senior class always gets it right, and it warms my heart how seriously you take this tradition of our school and this acknowledgment of your classmates. Each of the seven members of the 2020 May Court has made her unique contribution to our community during her time at GPS and embodies the qualities expected of the court.”

Kshama Patel, May Queen
Kshama is President of the Senior Class, a GPS Ambassador, and a member of National Honor Society. She attended the Montessori School.

Faith Copeland, Maid of Honor
Faith has played Varsity Volleyball, is on Senior Class Leadership Council (CLC), and is a member of GyPsieS. She attended St. Peter's Episcopal School.

Leightta Sherrill, Crown Bearer
Leightta is President of National Honor Society, the senior representative for Honor Council, and President of TED Ed Club. She attended Brookwood Elementary School

Eva Goldbach, Scepter Bearer
Eva is President of Honor Council, a WyldLife Leader, and a GPS Ambassador. She attended St. Peter's Episcopal School.

Isabelle Torrence, Left Train Bearer
Isabelle is the Editor-in-Chief of Calliope, on Senior Class Leadership Council (CLC), and a member of Terpischord. She attended St. Nicholas School.

Jadyn Matthews, Right Train Bearer
Jadyn is President of Student Council, Co-President of Health Club, and a member of Terpsichord. She attended St. Nicholas School.

Meg Priest, Lady of the Court
Meg is the Honor Council, Senior Representative of Honor Council, Co-Captain of the Varsity Soccer team, and a leader of Fellowship of Christian Athletes. She attended Thrasher Elementary School.

Photos from the announcement will be available here on our SmugMug account for you to enjoy, download for free, or order prints for a small fee. The recording of the live video from the announcement can be found on our Facebook page here.

Before the voting, we showed a video about May Day with our student body and faculty that tells the story of our school’s unique tradition. You may watch it here.