Three GPS Seniors Named National Merit Finalists

Espy, Gardner, and Phade advance in scholarship competition
During the 2021-22 school year, members of the junior class took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Each year, more than 1.3 million students take the test nationwide, with approximately 50,000 recognized for their academic potential based on their test scores. Students who receive a Selection Index score of 207 or above are considered high performers.

Of those recognized for their impressive performances, 34,000 were named Commended Students, while the remaining 16,000 were named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the student’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

Today we received word that three GPS seniors—Rowan Espy, Meghan Gardner, and Anisha Phade—have been named Finalists and will continue on in hopes of receiving one of 7,500 National Merit Scholarships.

“On behalf of the faculty, staff, and students of GPS, we enthusiastically congratulate these young women for this stellar academic achievement,” says Head of Upper School Beth Wilson. “These girls embody our own mission statement and inspire others to do the same as they model academic excellence, respect for others, and a curiosity for their surroundings. GPS has been greatly enriched by their contributions, and we look forward to the impact they will have on the world and, indeed, have already begun making.”

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2023 will be announced in nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 350,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.